WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICES

Washington law sometimes requires that you put an ignition interlock device (IID) on your vehicle:
1. If you are convicted of DUI or Physical Control.
2. If you are on a Deferred Prosecution for a DUI or Physical Control charge.
3. If you are convicted of DUI in another state.
4. If you are convicted of a reduced charge of Negligent Driving in the First Degree or Reckless Driving, and you have been convicted of DUI (or another charge reduced from DUI) in the prior seven years.
5. If you are convicted of Reckless Driving, and it was originally filed as Vehicular Homicide or Vehicular Assault while under the influence of intoxicants.

EXCEPTIONS:

IID not required on vehicles owned, leased or rented by your employer, driven by you at the direction of your employer as a requirement of employment during working hours. (Must provide declaration to DOL from your employer stating that operation of employer’s vehicle is necessary.) This exception is not allowed when the vehicle is used solely for commuting to and from employment. It is also not available for the first 30 days after IID is installed for first offense DUI or Physical Control, or for first 365 days after IID is installed for second or subsequent conviction for DUI or Physical Control.

REQUIREMENTS OF IID:

IID must be calibrated to prevent vehicle from starting when breath sample reads 0.025 or higher.

LENGTH OF REQUIREMENT:

The length required for IID depends on whether you have been previously required to have an IID.

If convicted of Vehicular Homicide, Vehicular Assault, DUI or Physical Control:
a. First time restricted by IID, one year;
b. Second time restricted by IID, five years;
c. Third or more time being restricted, ten years.

If IID requirement is because of Reckless Driving or Negligent Driving conviction, 6 months.

YOU SHOULD ALSO KNOW:

1. Your IID vendor must certify that for the four months prior to completion of IID requirement, there have been none of the following:
a. Attempt to start vehicle with 0.04 or higher sample (unless a subsequent test within ten minutes registers under 0.04 and digital image confirms that same person provided both samples);
b. Failure to take a random test (unless digital image confirms that someone else was driving when test was requested);
c. Failure to pass random retest with 0.025 or lower (unless subsequent test within ten minutes registers lower than 0.025 and digital image confirms that same person provided both samples; or
d. Failure to appear at IID vendor when required for maintenance, repair, calibration, monitoring, inspection or replacement of device.

2. You must pay the IID vendor yourself for the installation and maintenance of the IID. You must also pay a fee of $20 per month to the IID vendor, which they send to the DOL.
3. While you have an IID on your vehicle, you may also apply for an Ignition Interlock License (IIL) if you are suspended for an alcohol-related offense. The IIL allows you to continue to drive despite the suspension, so long as you have the IID installed. DOL charges $100 to apply for this license.
4. Even if IID is not mandatory, Washington law allows the judge to require an ignition interlock device while you are on probation for any offense involving the use, consumption or possession of alcohol while operating a motor vehicle. The judge can also require IID as a condition of pretrial release, while charges are pending.
5. If you install the IID before it is required (either voluntarily or because a judge ordered it as a condition of pretrial release) the DOL will give you day-for-day credit toward the time required if you are subsequently suspended for a conviction or at an administrative hearing.
6. Driving a motor vehicle without an IID when one is required is a crime.

For more information, see www.dol.wa.gov.

IGNITION INTERLOCK LICENSE

Ignition Interlock License (IIL) permits you to drive while suspended for Vehicular Homicide, Vehicular Assault, DUI, Physical Control, or Reckless Driving (reduced from one of the above). It can be obtained whether you are suspended because of a conviction or because of an administrative DOL hearing. It is not available if you have been suspended for MIP.

To get an IIL, you must prove to the DOL:

1. That a functioning IID has been installed on all vehicles operated by you;
2. That you have satisfactory proof of financial responsibility (SR22 insurance); and
3. You must pay the $100 fee.

While you have the IIL, you may only drive vehicles equipped with IID, except, IID is not required on vehicles owned, leased or rented by your employer, driven by you at the direction of your employer as a requirement of employment during working hours. (Must provide declaration to DOL from your employer stating that operation of employer’s vehicle is necessary.) This exception is not allowed when the vehicle is used solely for commuting to and from employment. It is also not available for the first 30 days after IID is installed for first offense DUI or Physical Control, or for first 365 days after IID is installed for second or subsequent conviction for DUI or Physical Control.

The time period during which you have an IIL applies day-for-day toward satisfying the time period you are required to have an IID.

Violation of any restriction of an IIL (for example, driving a vehicle without an IID), is a crime.

For more information, see www.dol.wa.gov.